South Asia

South Asia, the southern region of the Asian continent, comprises of eight countries namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This region covers 11.7% of the Asian continent and 3.5% of the world’s land surface area.[1] South Asia (SA), hosting 1.5 Billion people, contribute to 23.3% of the world population.[2]

Tobacco is a major causal factor for the increasing non-communicable disease burden and related premature mortality of the region, hindering its progress on sustainable development.[3][2]South Asian countries share many similarities in socio-economic contexts as well as in factors related to tobacco use and its control.[3] All South Asian countries are Parties to the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC).